Steve Mason | 13/12/12

Image: Steve Mason

Some genuinely excellent news for you all: the incomparable Steve Mason has announced details of a brand new album entitled Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time which will be released by our friends at Double Six on Monday March 11th 2013.

Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time is an album saturated with politics. With a title referring to the Buddhist term for an easily distracted brain, the album features 20 songs: 9 recorded in London with producer Dan Carey and 11 short linking pieces self-produced in Mason's Fife studio. Monkey Minds In the Devil's Time is an album that has been shaped by the current global political climate and the lack of dissenting voices in music as well as popular culture in general. The righteous, undaunted anger at the heart of the album has helped to create Mason’s best record to date.

All songs on the album were written by Mason, while Dan Carey appears on bass throughout the record and acclaimed London MC Mystro provides vocals on "More Money, More Fire".

As a way of whetting your appetite, Steve has made a video for "Fight Them Back". A protest song for a post-London riots era, the track hangs on a madly catchy, fantastically confrontational chorus and is matched with the equally striking video, which you can watch here:

Monkey Minds In The Devil's Time will be available on CD, vinyl and via digital download. You can PRE ORDER IT NOW, HERE. The tracklisting for the album is as follows:

  1. The Old Problem
  2. Lie Awake
  3. Flyover ‘98
  4. A Lot Of Love
  5. The Last Of Heroes
  6. Lonely
  7. Safe Population
  8. Friends For Ever More
  9. Seen It All Before
  10. From Hate We Hope
  11. Oh My Lord
  12. Goodbye Youth
  13. Never Be Alone
  14. Behind The Curtains
  15. More Money, More Fire
  16. Fire!
  17. Operation Mason
  18. Fight Them Back
  19. Towers of Power
  20. Come To Me