Your Friend | 12/11/15

Image: Your Friend launch shot

Taryn Miller, aka Your Friend, is today pleased to share the first taste of new music since last year’s debut EP, in the form of new song ‘Heathering’.

The brooding, elegantly haunted track marks a new chapter in Miller’s career – one that will be fully revealed with the release of her debut full-length, titled Gumption, on January 29th, 2016 via Domino.


The release of ‘Heathering’ comes just ahead of Miller’s participation in the Red Bull Music Academy in Paris, during which she will participate in the Cosmorama event, to be held next Tuesday, November 17th, alongside like-minded artists sitting at the musical intersection of lush electronica and indie-inflected pop music.

Since the release of her debut self-recorded EP, Jekyll/Hyde, in early 2014, Taryn Miller has experienced many firsts as an artist – her first tour (with Courtney Barnett), her first SXSW (in 2014, in support of the EP release), and her first time working in a proper studio with a producer. And now, the 24-year-old who resides in Lawrence, Kansas and makes music under the moniker Your Friend, begins the process of another first – the release of her debut full length album, Gumption.

Miller began writing the songs that would become Gumption at her studio space and apartment in Lawrence, Kansas after returning from touring in mid-2014. As a part of the album’s process, Miller acquired a field recorder that she used to explore sound from a familiar place. She took it to her family farm in Dexter, KS and drove around, dipping her senses into childhood nostalgia.

From there, she started recording with producer Nicolas Vernhes (The War on Drugs, Deerhunter) at the Rare Book Room in Brooklyn, which helped Your Friend fulfill a penchant for drones, loops and found sounds. “I paid attention to textures,” Miller says. “I was trying to remove myself from an approach that I had followed before, but still wanted to bring in that melodic element that is most inherent to me, and marry it with a more sonically meditative landscape.”

Gumption deals with the dualities and nuances of human interaction, and questions how much we, as individuals, are responsible for in the ways we are perceived. It’s a record of courage, as its title suggests - of having the willingness to make necessary shifts, and to have a sense of self-awareness that ultimately leads to growth.


Gumption will be available on CD and standard LP via the Domino Mart. Pre-order the album from the Domino Mart HERE or iTunes HERE and receive an instant download of ‘Heathering’. The standard LP comes in a single jacket with a printed inner sleeve and is accompanied by a MP3 download card.

Preorder: Dom Mart / iTunes


1. Heathering

2. Come Back From It

3. To Live With

4. Desired Things

5. Nothing Moved

6. Gumption

7. I Turned In

8. Who Will I Be In the Morning?

Your Friend has a handful of European dates on the horizon, and will be on tour in the US in early 2016. Stay tuned for all news and updates via the new Your Friend website HERE.

Your Friend Tour Dates

Sat Nov 28 || Espace B || Paris, France

Tues Dec 1 || Lock Tavern || London, UK

Thurs Dec 3 || St John Bethnal Green Church || London, UK (w/ Christopher Owen)

Fri Dec 4 || De Nieuwe Anite || Amsterdam, Netherlands (w/ Slim Twig)