Panda Bear | 04/11/14

Image: Panda Bear PSVSGR Announce

Panda Bear will be performing live in the UK and Europe next March, with a show at The Brixton Electric in London on 4th March 2015.  Full dates with ticket links are as follows:

WED   04/03/15                 London              UK                   Brixton Electric

THU    05/03/15               Brussels           BE               Orangerie

FRI      06/03/15              Paris               FR               Gaité Lyrique            

SUN     08/03/15              Zeewolde         NL                Where The Wild Things Are Festival

TUE     10/03/15              Berlin              DE                Certain People @ Berghain

WED   11/03/15                Lisbon            Portugal         Teatro Maria Matos

THU    12/03/15                Braga             Portugal         GNRation


Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper, or PBVSGR as the album has been referred to cryptically online over the past few months, is the fifth studio album from Animal Collective founding member and critically acclaimed solo artist Noah Lennox, a.k.a. Panda Bear. The album will be released via Domino on January 12th in the UK and January 13th in the United States.

Watch the video for Mr Noah, the album’s first single, directed by AB/CD/CD, below. The Mr Noah EP, a 4-song standalone EP featuring the single, plus 3 new tracks that will not be on the forthcoming album is available to buy and to stream now. The exclusive iTunes pre-order of the album will come with the EP as instant gratification tracks.

Noah has had a far-from-quiet few years since the release of his fourth solo record, 2011’s Tomboy. Since the breakout success of 2007’s universally-adored Person Pitch, each new Panda Bear release is a highly anticipated event, and a high-profile Daft Punk collaboration later (Doin’ It Right, from Random Access Memories), that’s more the case than ever.


Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper finds our hero leaving the airy minimalism of Tomboy and unpacking his sonic toolbox again, rearranging the multitude of his disparate influences into the ever-morphing concoction he refers to as “the soup.”

Old school hip-hop textures and production techniques meld with the intuitive, cyclical melodies he has become known for, for a sound that is at once dense and playful.

Recording for the album came together everywhere from El Paso, Texas, to a garage by the beach near his home in Lisbon, Portugal. In a relationship that already proved fruitful on Tomboy, Noah partnered again with Pete “Sonic Boom” Kember, this time in a more top-to-bottom production role.


Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper signifies a pivotal point for an artist who has proven he can continue to evolve while remaining at the top of his game. As Noah says, “It’s sort of marking change — not necessarily an absolute death, but the ending of something, and hopefully the beginning of something else.”


Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper will be available in Standard CD and 2xLP formats, and Limited Edition Deluxe 2xCD and 3xLP formats. The Limited Edition Deluxe 2xCD and 3xLP includes the 4-song Mr Noah EP in addition to the album in deluxe packaging. Exclusive bundles that include a limited edition T-shirt and lithograph are available via the Animal Collective webstore. All pre-orders come with an instant download of the Mr Noah EP.

For more information, head to the Domino website.


Visit Panda Bear’s new website and sign up if you dare. 


Mr Noah EP Tracklisting

  1. Mr Noah
  2. Faces In The Crowd
  3. Untying The Knot
  4. This Side Of Paradise


Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper Tracklisting

  1. Sequential Circuits
  2. Mr Noah
  3. Davy Jones’ Locker
  4. Crosswords
  5. Butcher Baker Candlestick Maker
  6. Boys Latin
  7. Come To Your Senses
  8. Tropic Of Cancer
  9. Shadow Of The Colossus
  10. Lonely Wanderer
  11. Principe Real
  12.  Selfish Gene
  13. Acid Wash