Villagers | 03/12/15

Image: Villagers Hot Scary Summer still

Where Have You Been All My Life?, released on 8th January 2016, is a collection of songs that distils five years and three albums of Villagers’ songwriting into one flowing narrative.

Recorded in one day at London’s RAK Studio with Richard Woodcraft (Radiohead, The Last Shadow Puppets) and Villagers live engineer Ber Quinn, the album is a re-imagining of older material seamlessly woven with present glories from Villagers’ most recent studio album, Darling Arithmetic.

Watch behind the scenes footage of the recording of the track ‘Hot Scary Summer’ HERE.

Released in April 2015, Conor O’Brien’s third album under the guise of Villagers was a more pared-back, intimate journey compared to the multi-faceted arrangements of Becoming A Jackal (2010) and {Awayland} (2013). This fresh approach was extended on subsequent Villagers tours, where old songs were reinvented to match the new. Then for one day in July 2015, 18 songs were quickly captured and 12 songs chosen for the final album, making it Villagers’ most intense, but satisfying, session to date. These recordings are all first or second takes, and the immediacy of the occasion was part of the magic that day, live and unadorned by overdubs or studio trickery.

The unique nature of these arrangements is due in no small part to the musicians in the room at the time of recording: Cormac Curran on grand piano and analogue synthesizer, Danny Snow on double bass, Mali Llywelyn on harp, mellotron and vocals, and Gwion Llewelyn on drums, flugelhorn and vocals. The result is a lush, harmony-laden and vibrant document of a time and a place.

Included in the album are new versions of ‘The Waves’ and ‘Memoir’ – a track written by O’Brien for Charlotte Gainsbourg’s 2011 album Stage Whisper.    Listen to ‘Memoir’ and ‘The Waves’ below.

‘Where Have You Been All My Life?’ will be available on LP (WIGLP368), CD (WIGCD368), Digital (WIG368D) and Deluxe LP (green coloured vinyl  with two bonus tracks on the download card, ‘Pieces’ & ‘No-one to Blame’). Pre-order the album from Dom Mart HERE and iTunes HERE.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Set the Tigers Free

2. Everything I Am is Yours

3. My Lighthouse

4. Courage

5. That Day

6. The Soul Serene

7. Memoir

8. Hot Scary Summer

9. The Waves

10. Darling Arithmetic

11. So Naive

12. Wichita Lineman

Villagers live dates:

13 December: Germany, Berlin - Stargaze Long Weekender

26 January: UK – Belfast - ‘Out to Lunch Festival' - The MAC Theatre

28 January: Ireland – Dublin - Vicar Street

29 January: Ireland – Galway - Black Box

1 February: UK - Newcastle - Gateshead – Sage 2

2 February: UK - Glasgow - Oran Mor Auditorium

3 February: UK – Leeds - Brudenell Social Club

5 February: UK - Manchester - Gorilla

6 February: UK - Sheffield - Leadmill

7 February: UK - Birmingham - Glee Club

8 February: UK - Oxford - Academy 2

10 February: UK – Bath - Komedia

11 February: UK – London - Shepherds Bush Empire

12 February: UK – Brighton - St Georges Church

13 February: UK - Ashford - St Mary's Church

15 February: Belgium – Brussels – Botanique Orangerie

16 February: Holland – Amsterdam - Paradiso Noord

18 February: Holland – Zwolle - Hedon

19 February: Germany – Dusseldorf - Zakk

20 February: Germany - Munich - Strom

22 February: Germany – Berlin - Postbahnhof

23 February: Germany – Frankfurt - Zoom

25 February: France – Paris - La Maroquinerie

26 February: France – Rouen - 106

27 February – France – St Malo – Route Du Rock Festival

28 February: France – Nantes - Stereolux