LA Priest | 02/07/15

Image: LA Priest announcement

LA PRIEST – the project of former Late Of The Pier front man Sam Dust – follows this week’s release of acclaimed debut album Inji with a brand new video for its latest single, ‘Learning To Love’. Watch the video now below.

Filmed around Dust’s remote habitat in rural north Wales and in collaboration with director Isaac Eastgate, ‘Learning To Love’ proves real the LA PRIEST fever dream in its visual decadence, combining the good and evil of LA PRIEST’s sonic spectrum with a dizzying array of high frequency visions. 

Inji is also streaming in full now via

Across its ten audaciously imaginative tracks, Inji reasserts Dust as a truly idiosyncratic voice in British music, applying the same frantically eclectic, mischievous and wilfully absurd spirit of his previous band, the beloved Late of the Pier, to ever more nuanced and affecting songwriting and composition.

Recorded over a reclusive period spanning five years following the disbandment of Late of the Pier in which Dust travelled the world, did scientific research, worked on the creation of a number of new inventions and produced several secret musical projects, Inji is a record that has its own logic and exists in its own time zone.

From the obscene space-age stadium rock guitar solo of ‘Oino’, the maddeningly catchy digi-dub single that Dust leaked sample-by-sample on a suitably enigmatic website at the turn of the year (watch the video HERE), to ‘Learning To Love’, the record's gargantuan, eight minute long prog-house centrepiece and ‘Occasion’, a melting martian Prince come-on, Inji confounds and delights in equal measure and at every turn.

If it doesn’t conform it’s because it’s not supposed to.

Inji is available on CD (WIGCD344), LP with download code (WIGLP344), Deluxe LP with download code (WIGLP344x) & Digital (WIG344D) now and includes the singles ‘Oino’, ‘Party Zute / Learning To Love’ and ‘Lady’s In Trouble With The Law’. Buy the album through Dom Mart HERE and through iTunes HERE.


Inji Tracklisting:


1.     Occasion 

2.     Lady's In Trouble With The Law 

3.     Gene Washes With New Arm 

4.     Oino 

5.     Party Zute / Learning To Love

6.     Lorry Park 

7.     Night Train 

8.     Fabby 

9.     A Good Sign 

10.  Mountain 


Forthcoming LA PRIEST live dates are as follows:       


Fri 03 Jul          NL                    Amsterdam      Pitch Festival

Sat 18 July      Belgium            Dour                Dour Festival            

Thu 13 Aug     Sweden          Gothenburg     Way Out West

Fri 14 Aug       Norway           Oslo                 Oya Festival

Fri 04 Sept       Ireland             County Laois   Electric Picnic Festival

Sun 06 Sept    Wales              Portmeirion      Festival No. 6

Sun 13 Sept    UK                   Isle of Wight    Bestival          

Wed 04 Nov    Iceland             Reykjavik         Iceland Airwaves