Bill Ryder-Jones | 01/03/13

Image: Bill Ryder-Jones b&w

Bill Ryder-Jones has filmed a video for He Took You In His Arms, the first track to be aired from the forthcoming his new album A Bad Wind Blows In My Heart. It was shot across a number of locations important to the album’s conception - his teenage bedroom frozen in time at his Mother’s house still complete with 90’s Liverpool FC paraphernalia, the beach at the end of her road, the famous ferry across Liverpool’s Mersey River and the streets, houses and pubs that colour Ryder-Jones’ life each day.

The video was shot by rising star Alex Southam who has previously shot videos for Alt-J, The Walkmen & Lianne La Havas. It can be viewed below:

A Bad Wind Blows In My Heart, marries Ryder-Jones masterful capacities as arranger and composer with his first firm steps as a singer songwriter. It’s an album of capital-S songs that will more than sate the appetite of those that appreciate his knack for heart swelling melody and painterly detail..

The album was recorded in Ryder-Jones’ old bedroom in the upstairs of his mother’s house in Liverpool. Two friends from local band By The Sea made up the backing band for the recordings, which were then produced and mixed together with James Ford.

Ryder-Jones will be performing the album live for the first time Sunday 17th March at Manchester’s Castle Hotel, with more tour dates being confirmed soon.

A Bad Wind Blows In My Heart will be available on CD (WIG308CD), LP (WIGLP308) and via digital download (WIG308D). Click HERE to pre-order. The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Hanging Song

2. There's A World Between Us

3. A Bad Wind

4. By Morning I

5. The Lemon Tree #3      

6. Anthony & Owen

7. White Swans

8. Christina That’s The Saddest Thing

9. You’re Getting Like Your Sister

10. He Took You In His Arms

11. A Bad Wind Pt. 2