Bonnie 'Prince' Billy | WIG374 | Released: 22/01/16

Image: Pond Scum

A span of eight years is covered, in reverse, and many chestnuts are rolled out, freed of former contexts with sparse arrangements. "(I Was Drunk at the) Pulpit" feels, ten years from inception, more vividly worn; "Death to Everyone" is loosed from its frame, the bones decoupled and spread out, giving the song a reflective air (as opposed the biting declamation of the original); "Arise, Therefore" adapts its metronomic base, the evangelic twist of its roots made palpable. With the centre of the performance in stark relief, the gnomic qualities of two "Get On Jolly" pieces are intensified. Further accenting the devoted spirit of this collection is the inclusion of Bonnie's take on Prince's "The Cross", as well as the previously-unreleased original "Beezle."

Bonnie's lone shadow casts over this lot, accompanied on the first four tracks by David Heumann, but otherwise playing solo through a set of original songs (and two covers) representing a decade of progress in the almost unbearably intimate-yet-unknowable manner that was so often the vibe of those strange and wondrous days.

Layers peel to reveal the subtle artistry and refinement contained within these sessions, so begin to dig deep into the vault on January 22nd, 2016! But wait, there's more! You can download a new arrangement of "Rich Wife Full of Happiness", (which is similar in tone, but not found on Pond Scum!)!


Image: Pond Scum

WIGLP374 | Out now

Add to cart: £15.99
This item is not available in certain territories: See whole list

1. (I Was Drunk At The) Pulpit
2. Death To Everyone
3. Arise, Therefore
4. Jolly Five (64)
5. Beezle
6. Jolly One (2/15)
7. When Thy Songs Flows Through Me
8. The Houseboat (O How I Enjoy The Light)
9. Trudy Dies
10. The Cross
11. Stable Will
12. The Idol On The Bar



Image: Pond Scum

WIGCD374 | Out now

Add to cart: £10.99
This item is not available in certain territories: See whole list